Welcome to IBEW Local Union # 71 

Providing quality electricians since 1891

The International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) is a labor union which represents nearly 750,000 workers and retirees in the electrical industry in the United States, Canada, Panama, Guam, Wake Island and several Caribbean island nations; particularly electricians, or Inside Wiremen, in the construction industry and linemen and other employees of public utilities. The union also represents some workers in the computer, telecommunications, broadcasting, and other fields related to electrical work. It was founded in 1891 shortly after homes and businesses in the United States began receiving electricity. Its international president is Kenneth Cooper. The IBEW is affiliated with the AFL-CIO.

The beginnings of the IBEW were in the Electrical Wiremen and Linemen's Union No. 5221, founded in St. Louis, Missouri in 1890. By 1891, after sufficient interest was shown in a national union, a convention was held on November 21, 1891 in St. Louis. At the convention, the IBEW, then known as the National Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (NBEW), was officially formed. The American Federation of Labor gave the NBEW a charter as an AFL affiliate on December 7, 1891. The union's official journal, The Electrical Worker, was first published on January 15, 1893, and has been published ever since. At the 1899 convention in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania the union's name was officially changed to the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.


Todd Kessler

Wally Gribble

Dirk Dozer

Jay Roessner

Kurt Williams

Matt Bruggeman
Cody Davis
Jason Hostetler
Josh Malone
Mitch McCloskey

IBEW Local Union 71 - In Memory See All

Dylan Berry
Jun. 30, 2024
Read More

Justin Jones
Mar. 19, 2024
Read More

Bryce Valdez
Feb. 14, 2024
Read More